Tampa Port Authority Welcomes New Commissioners

The Tampa Port Authority Board of Commissioners is pleased to announce the swearing-in of William A. “Hoe” Brown and Stephen W. Swindal, at today’s monthly board meeting.  The two were appointed to the port commission on May 21 by Florida Governor Charlie Crist.

Brown, 50, is a real estate investor with JB Carrie Properties and succeeds Lance Ringhaver.  Brown’s term expires November 15, 2011. Swindal, 53, is chairman of Marine Towing of Tampa and succeeds Walter “Joe” Hartley.  Swindal’s term expires February 6, 2012.

Other officers and members of the port commission are as follows:  Lawrence Shipp, chairman; Brian Dolan, vice chairman; Carl Lindell, Jr., secretary-treasurer; Tampa Mayor Pam Iorio; and Hillsborough County Commissioner Brian Blair.

The Port of Tampa is the largest port in Florida and one of the most diversified ports in the United States.  The port is the premier economic engine in the state’s west and central region.  The Port of Tampa generates almost 100,000 jobs and nearly $8 billion in economic impact annually.

Cruise Industry News Email Alerts

Cruise Industry News Email Alerts



Get the latest breaking cruise newsSign up.


54 Ships | 122,002 Berths | $36 Billion | View

New 2024 Drydock REPORT


  • Mkt. Overview
  • Record Year
  • Refit Schedule
  • 120 Pages
  • PDF Download
  • Order Today
New 2024 Annual Report


  • 2033 Industry Outlook 
  • All Operators
  • Easy to Use
  • Pre-Order Offer
  • Order Today